HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Full length vs neck sizing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/346465-full-length-vs-neck-sizing.html)

C120 07-05-2011 12:27 PM

Full length vs neck sizing

What is the advantagle of neck sizing over full lenght sizing? It's my understanding that when loading rounds that will be used in one particular rifle is when you could neck size only, is this correct? Why would one want to neck size only?

Obviously, I'm just getting into reloading. I've read three reloading manuals but not reloaded my first round yet.

Coyote Kid 07-31-2011 11:07 AM

C120
IMO it is best to adjust the FL resizing die to just set the shoulder back a couple of thousands of an inch for best chamber fit and function in a bolt or single shot hunting rifle. When FL sizing you are restoring the case to SAMMI specs.; Sizing the neck enough to hold the bullet and not working the case after each fireing. Sometimes a certain amount of improved accuracy can be had with neck sizing; but don't beleive it will be very much. In my rifles the partial sizing has worked well and the case is not worked as much as full lengh sizing. Hope this helps.

CK

harter66 08-08-2011 03:13 PM

Depending on the application, the above is correct.

I've 3 rifles in an 06' case . 1 must be full lengthed every time, they won't chamber otherwise. In the others sizing just half of the neck improved groups by a visible margin. The thing in those 2 is that 1 has a chamber that is correct at the neck base but is long from the base to the shoulder and the other just has a fat shoulder. Now its only say .002-4 on each, but full sizing each time reduces case life from 10 loads to 5 in those 2. In 1 of the 3 the half necking gave me group reduction w/a good load from 2" to 1" and allowed me to move the velocity up by 100fps and keep my 1.5" 100yd hunting load group.