HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Reloading basics (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/321749-reloading-basics.html)

sauer06 04-17-2010 06:14 PM

Reloading basics

I have a question for you reloaders, I have been reloading for about 10 years. I reload a couple of hundred or so rounds a year of 30, and 243 cal. lately I have been unemployed for over a year and have been getting into reloading more and more and the more I study the more I realize that there is way more into this than I thought.I have recently bought more reloading manuals and a RCBS powdler trickler and a chronograph to go with the RCBS reloading system that I already have. The person that taught me how to reload was and is an a very good reloader, and the first batch of 30.06 reloads we first did Win760, Hornady150-165 BTSP interlock Win Mag primers shot 1-1.2to 1-1.5 groups all day long and I used them for years hunting white tails. I have done many web searches on this subject and I have had success and failures with regard to accuracy.What I want to know is other that basic safety what are the most important aspects of reloading accuracy? I :sign0016: know this is a very open question but all responses will be treated with respect.
Thx for all of you help.
Doug Olwin

Howler 04-17-2010 06:22 PM

IMO, consistancy and records keeping.

Gromky 04-17-2010 10:08 PM

Consistency on the chrono. Followed by consistency on the target. Those are the only two things that really matter (if you aren't exceeding safe pressure). You might get the first without the second, if the round doesn't work for the specific rifle...in which case, change the load for the rifle.