Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Tipped TSX???

Old 01-21-2010, 04:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Tipped TSX???

I have been shooting X bullets exclusively since 1997 and TSX bullets since they came out. I like the way they perform on deer which is mostly what I hunt.

My dad recently bought 3 boxes of the tipped TSX bullets. How do they perform as compared to regular TSX bullets? We rarely shoot over 100 yards so a sleek bullet is not necessary. I also liked the way the TSX and X bullets' hollow point opened up, even on small doe. Will the tipped open up as quickly?

Thanks.
Old 01-21-2010, 10:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have used the 80gr tipped TSX in a 243 Win on three deer this year,which were all one shot kills so no complaints from me . I did find the bullet in one buck which is very unusual for a barnes bullet , usually all of them are complete pass throughs . Anyway it was a perfect mushroom just like the pictures always show them . Personally I'm sold on Barnes bullets I've used them on deer ,elk , antelope and bear .
Old 01-22-2010, 02:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks. In our camp we've used them to take about 50 deer in the last 12 years. From small doe to huge-bodied bucks. All but three dropped in their tracks. 1 took three steps and the other two ran about 50 yards.

My concern about expansion came from watching the Barnes video where they explain that expansion starts from tissue entereing the hollow point cavity and pushing out. I thought the tip would make it easier for the bullet to slide in before expansion started. Then I read that they redesigned the nose cavity to make expansion faster so I guess I'm convinced.

If you're dropping deer with these bullets, the expansion should be just fine. I'll give them a shot (pun intended )
Old 01-22-2010, 04:53 AM
Fork Horn