HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Is there a difference in bullets? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/314659-there-difference-bullets.html)

cuda67 01-10-2010 10:42 AM

Is there a difference in bullets?

I'm new to reloading and just purchased a press after Christmas. My question is, is there a big difference in which bullets to use. I'm going with the Hodgen Hybird 100V powder. I will be loading for a.270. According to Hodgen's load chart. They say to use in a 130 GR bullet either a Barnes TSX or a Hornaday SP. Would I need to use strictly a Barnes TSX or could I use a Barnes TSX-BT? Could I subsitute a Sierra or a Hornaday in a 130 GR-BT? Does one make a big difference over the other? I rarely shoot a deer over 100 yrds.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pawildman 01-10-2010 03:06 PM

Guns are individuals when it comes to ammo. Your particular gun may or may not like a particular brand of bullet You will usually find out what it wants to shoot best by trying several different brands/types. Same with powders. What shoots well in one person's gun may not shoot worth a hoot in yours. That's why we reload..... to get the best possible combination that shoots great in your particular rifle.

cuda67 01-11-2010 05:29 AM

I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question. So as long as I stay within the starting load and the maximum load for the type of powder I'm using and the 130 GR bullet which I intend to use, I will be ok to experiment with different bullets like BT, SP, HP, etc, and the different brand of bullets to see which one's work best in my gun?

driftrider 01-11-2010 05:40 AM