HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Lee Collet Dies (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/290464-lee-collet-dies.html)

wolverine72 03-28-2009 09:20 PM

Lee Collet Dies

I just purchased a new lee collet neck die. I've never used these before, but have used other brands.

I resized some .243 win shells, and noticed that the neck was only being resized to .243" and the bullet was not seating firmly in the shell. I tore the die apart, and measured the mandrel. It was .240". This is the same diameter that my full length dieresizes brasstoo, and it firmly holds the bullet. So I don't think that the mandrel is the problem.

I am using a Rock Chucker Supreme press, and Winchester brass.

Am I not applying enough pressure? It sure seems like I am -- directionsstate that only25# is necessary. I can see where the collet is leaving rings in the outside of the brass. I am also running a nylon brush through the neck to remove excess powders, crud, etc before I resize. Am I perhaps doing something else wrong? I am turning the die one turns after makingthe dietouch the shell holder.Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Pete D. 03-29-2009 02:33 AM

RE: Lee Collet Dies

A couple of things to try. One - how old is your brass? The Lee collet die works best with new brass or brass that has been annealed. If your stuff has been fired a few times, the necks may be work hardened enough to cause the problem that you describe.
Two - try sizing a case and then rotating the case half a turn and sizing it again.
Pete

bigcountry 03-29-2009 04:45 AM