Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Mismatched Brass >

Mismatched Brass

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Mismatched Brass

Old 11-23-2008, 09:25 AM
Typical Buck

Default Mismatched Brass

I am new to reloading as I just ordered the RCBS Rockchucker supreme kit from Midway. I will be loading .30'06, .270, .280 and 7-08. I have been scrounging brass at the range as well as saving my own. Will mismatched brass cause me fits or should I start with new brass? Thanks in advance.
Old 11-23-2008, 10:23 AM

Default RE: Mismatched Brass

Go with new brass. For all the cartridges you mentioned the cost won't be much and will save you a lot of headaches. Wall thickness will come into play when mixing and matching from brand to brand.
The only time I scrounge brass at the range is when I see someone show up with nice boxes of factory ammo that they then shoot up and then neatly put the fired rounds back in the box and set them in the trash can.

T

Old 11-23-2008, 10:49 AM
Typical Buck

Are their any advantages to getting nickel plated brass?
Old 11-23-2008, 03:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Wayspr

Are their any advantages to getting nickel plated brass?
Other than it looks nice, not really by my estimation. Nickel brass is harder because of the nickel plating, but I've had the nickel flake of after several firings. It theoretically would be harder on your dies because nickel is a LOT harder than brass. It costs a lot more, and the necks get brittle faster and split easier, and I'm note sure if you can anneal nickel brass. The only advantage I can think of is that it might extract a little easier if your chamber is rough or dirty.