Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

RCBS....again

Old 03-07-2008, 12:42 PM

Default RCBS....again

I recently traded my 30-06 Encore pistol barrel for a .22-250 barrel. I've been reloading for about 25 years or so, and in that time I've done a few "things", like broke a few decapping pins , crushed a few cases, lube dents, and the like, but yesterday was a first. I managed to get a bag of new brass and an RCBS die set for the 22-250, and set the first die up. I had already re-sized, measured, trimmed and put into the tumbler about 8 or 9 cases when something went awry. Not being used to loading anything so small, I wasn't thinking when I pulled the handle on the press. I evidently didn't have the case securely seated in the shell holder when I pulled the handle, and I just completely ruined the resizing die.. The only thing that survived my error were three lock nuts and the die body. I swear I've felt more resistance when necking up cases for the larger calibers.
A quick call to RCBS and the lady I talked to said the replacement parts were on the way I didn't much have to tell her more than what I did, and give my address. (which I'm sure they have, I'm kinda bad about blowing O-rings on my Lubrisizer!)

I'm still in awe as to the customer service some of these large companies provide! [/align]
Old 03-07-2008, 01:50 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: RCBS....again

Man, after all that, I still am not sure what happened. What happened to the sizing die? How did brass damage steel?

Old 03-08-2008, 11:35 AM

I don't understand what he did either?? About the only way to damage an RCBS press and dies is to take a hammer to them...unless he stuck a case in the dies and ruined them trying to chisel it out.
Old 03-08-2008, 12:56 PM