Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Non Hunting > Politics
Where does the Constitution mention abortion? >

Where does the Constitution mention abortion?

Politics Nothing goes with politics quite like crying and complaining, and we're a perfect example of that.

Where does the Constitution mention abortion?

Old 10-25-2002, 06:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Where does the Constitution mention abortion?

Whenever the topic of abortion comes up the baby killers seem to frequently and incessently refer to a woman's "Constitutional right to choose (to murder her baby)"

I've taken a couple classes that involved Constitutional Law and read the Constitution, but I have yet to find any specific reference or inference to abortion in any way.

I'm not a lawyer, and I'm not 100% up to speed on Roe v. Wade, but what basis in the Constitution did the Supreme Court use to justify their ruling? Or was it (as I suspect) simply an eggregious act of using the high courts power to write social(ist) policy?

Mike

Gun control means putting the second bullet through the same hole as the first- Ted Nugent
NRA Member
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Ben Franklin
Old 10-25-2002, 08:46 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Where does the Constitution mention abortion?

They contend that it is backed up by the 9th amendment, the (so-called) right to privacy.

Roe vs. Wade

The Constitutionally implied right to privacy protects a woman's choice in matters of abortion.
Norma McCorvey sought an abortion in Texas, but was denied under state law. The Court struck down that law, on grounds that it unconstitutionally restricted the woman's right to choose. The opinion set forth guidelines for state abortion regulations; states could restrict a woman's right to choose only in the later stages of the pregnancy. Later modified but not overruled, the decision stands as one of the Court's most controversial.
Old 10-25-2002, 09:05 PM