Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Optics
Need Suggestions on Scope for New Rifle >

Need Suggestions on Scope for New Rifle

Community
Optics Quality optics are a must-have for any serious hunter. Discuss them here.

Need Suggestions on Scope for New Rifle

Old 06-28-2012, 01:18 PM
Spike

Default Need Suggestions on Scope for New Rifle

Hi everyone,

This is my first post

I am new to hunting, but have been around guns and ranges my entire life.

The gun I recently purchased for my hunting firearm is a Winchester Model 70 Featherweight in 300 Win. Mag.

I would like to be able to go hunting for anything from Hog to Deer to Elk and am looking at what scope would be best suited for all of these.

A Hunter at Bass Pro Shop recommended the following:
Nikon Bushmaster in 3x9x50
Nikon Bushmaster in 4x12x50
Nikon Monarch in 4x16x50

Those seemed a little big to me, but like I said I am completely new to this.

I would like to get good quality glass while also minimizing parallex so lets go step by step and see what everyone would recommend:

So here are the questions:

1) Do most of you have compensation in the scope for distance, or do you "click" up / down for distance

2) Power
3x9
3x10
4x12
4x16

3) Objective Lense
40mm
50mm

4) Brand
Nikon
Leupold
Swarovski
Trijicon
Zeiss

5) Also I would need a recomendations for the best scope mounts as well.

6) What price range should I be expecting? Is there a price where you start to get higher quality thats worth the money?

I was thinking of the $200 to $400 range for scope (not including rings) but am willing to spend a little more if you think the quality outweighs the extra price.
These are just what I was looking at, if you have other options feel free to let me know.

Thanks.

Mike
Old 06-29-2012, 09:29 AM
Giant Nontypical