Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Non Hunting > Off Season
Mountain Lions >

Mountain Lions

Off Season This is the place to kick back and shoot the breeze.

Mountain Lions

Old 03-16-2014, 09:01 AM
Typical Buck

Default Mountain Lions

Was on the phone with my mom last night just catchin up and sittin on the back porch watching the dogs play when I looked up on the hill and saw a mountain lion running across a big open space. Got me and the wife to talking and I realized that was the first live mountain lion I had ever seen and I've been hunting for about 20 years already. Went pokin around across the creek this morning after feeding the horses and found a dead yearling elk about 75 yds behind the house. How many of you other hunters have gotten to see a live mountain lion out in the wild?

Old 03-17-2014, 07:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've been lucky enough to see a couple. There is a big one that lives near my house. We have seen the tracks and have heard it but never seen it. The first time I seen one I thought I was seeing things.
Old 03-17-2014, 10:25 AM
Fork Horn

I saw one run across a dirt road in wv, the tail is unmistakable. I would love to come out west and try to call one in. Get back there with a predator call! Is there spring mountain lion season in Colorado?
Old 03-17-2014, 10:56 AM
Typical Buck

Unfortunately the season is closed for my unit, plus I don't have a tag. Those two things considered, I could have taken a shot he was only two hundred yards away and layin in the rocks until we hollered to get him away.
Old 03-17-2014, 03:54 PM
Fork Horn

CO has always sounded confusing to me
I'd love to try my hand at an OTC archery bull tag but I'm only 22 and don't think I could afford it..
I wish you could have got him, I saw a bleached skull the other day. Vicious! I'd get my bow and a predator call and take my chances lol jk jk
Old 03-18-2014, 10:31 AM
Nontypical Buck