Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
NJ hunting newbie looking for advice on first deer >

NJ hunting newbie looking for advice on first deer

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

NJ hunting newbie looking for advice on first deer

Old 12-13-2013, 08:58 AM
Spike

Default NJ hunting newbie looking for advice on first deer

I'm a complete noob to hunting and I'm looking to hunt deer in the NJ/NY/PA area. I did my NJ hunter's safety course in shotgun and rifle and just need a little advice on the best way to get started — whether to go with an outfitter or just do it alone.

I figure most people get started with a family member or friend but no one I know hunts. I gotta rely on the kindness of strangers.

Last year, I did a wild hog hunt in the Hill Country in TX and really enjoyed it. I'm into cooking so this more about the food for me.

Any help would be appreciated and thank you in advance.
Old 12-13-2013, 03:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

I see your from Hudson County, my wife was born/raised in Hoboken, I was born/raised in Bergen County. Lots of public land in Sussex County, as well as Warren County. What game do you want to hunt in NJ?
Old 12-13-2013, 04:33 PM
Spike

I hunted in NJ for 1 year and would like to again but the cost is too much now. Non resident license is high, fuel cost, bait and toll. It all adds up in 1 year. You can bait there to make it easier, looking into getting a bow or crossbow and a tree stand. The archery season is much longer then gun season and you can hunt Sundays for archery which is nice.

I started hunting with a close friend and we do alot of reading, put time in the woods and learned from our mistakes. If you hunt in PA and near my area I don't mind taking you to where I hunt and show you around. I am no expert but would like to make some more hunting friends.
Old 12-14-2013, 07:53 AM
Spike