Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Bear Baiting

Old 07-24-2003, 07:18 PM

Default Bear Baiting

I am new to bear hunting and wish to begin baiting for the upcoming fall season. I would appreciate any advice on how to proceed. Types of baits and techniques including where and how often are greatly appreciated.
Old 07-24-2003, 07:31 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Bear Baiting

joe, just wondering, what state do you live in, and is it legal to bait there?
Old 07-24-2003, 07:34 PM

Property is in the Adirondacks of NY. NO, you can' t hunt over bait but I don' t think it' s illegal to bait prior to season.
Old 07-24-2003, 08:12 PM
Fork Horn

boy, i dont think that you can do that in ny, or at least don' t get caught, lol. used to work with a guy from plattsburg who bear hunted, never mentioned baiting. but, i went to maine last year for bear, guide used molasses, snack cakes, corn, fryer grease, peanut hearts. each bear baited wanted something different. also used licorace, and oil of anise. try these things.
Old 07-26-2003, 02:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

be careful. some states require you to remove bait or any trace within 30 days of the opener. sounds funny but i have found in different areas bears prefer different foods. in maine it was mostly sweets. in ontario canada mostly meat scraps. if your looking for cheap try some bag dog food with a little syrup and artificial vanilla. hang a bag from a tree or dig a small pit and put some heavy logs and rocks over it it to try to keep most of the critters out. if you can hang a couple fish up in a tree to act as stink bait to get them coming to your area.
Old 07-26-2003, 02:12 PM
Giant Nontypical