HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Northeast (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/northeast-26/)
-   -   Question about PA deer limits (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/northeast/309185-question-about-pa-deer-limits.html)

WestVirginiaBrent 11-06-2009 06:37 AM

Question about PA deer limits

I've only hunted PA 3 times, so I am no expert and don't have the rules handy and couldn't find what I was looking for on the Game Commission's site. So I am hoping you can clear things up for me. My buddy's uncle has a nice patch of land in Bedford that I can hunt. The problem is my buddy never wants to bowhunt there because he says if he gets one with a bow he can't go rifle hunting because PA only let's you shoot one buck per year, not one buck per season, i.e; bow, gun, muzzleloader. So is my buddy right? Can you only take one buck per year regardless of which weapon/season you went? Because that just doesn't make sense to me. I would think you could take an antlered deer with a bow during bow season and then take an antlered deer during rifle season.

bowfly 11-06-2009 07:07 AM

Brent, that is correct, one buck tag which can be used in any of the seasons, just not the early muzzleloader/inline season

also, if you do not harvest a buck during those seasons, you can use it for a doe in the late archery/flintlock season after xmas

WestVirginiaBrent 11-06-2009 08:42 AM

Originally Posted by bowfly (Post 3497223)
Brent, that is correct, one buck tag which can be used in any of the seasons, just not the early muzzleloader/inline season

also, if you do not harvest a buck during those seasons, you can use it for a doe in the late archery/flintlock season after xmas

Wow, so if I went back there this weekend with a bow, took a nice buck, that's it, my season is done? What the heck kind of program is that?

BarnesX.308 11-06-2009 09:43 AM