HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Northeast (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/northeast-26/)
-   -   start Chinese chestnut from seed (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/northeast/305562-start-chinese-chestnut-seed.html)

bowhunter2117 10-01-2009 05:07 PM

start Chinese chestnut from seed

start Chinese chestnut from seed. I’m no expert on the subject and all the info I posted can be found in the links at the bottom of the page. As far as where I get my nuts for seed I have and know of many trees that I use for seed. For those who don’t have access to free seed check the grocery store most including Wal-Mart carry them . Give it a try at the very least they wont grow at best you will create a honey hole for yourself

Though not in this article I prefer to heat treat chestnuts before overwintering the procedure is detailed below
As soon as possible after harvest, treat nuts by putting them in 120'F water for 20 minutes. This process
kills the Chestnut Weevil egg/small larvae but does not affect the germinability of the seed. If the temperature is too low
(less than 117'F), the weevil will not be killed. Too hot, and you kill the embryo and, thus, the seed.

POLLINATION AND PLANTING

Growing Chestnut Trees from Seed
Frederick V. Hebard, Philip A. Rutter

Growing chestnut from seed is easy. If you can germinate one avocado in twenty tries, you will be able to germinate at least fifteen chestnuts. The nuts are relatively big, and seedlings grow fast, so most survive the rigors of their first winter. The six essentials are proper storage before planting, an appropriate potting mix for planting, adequate protection from rodents and deer, no weeds, good fertilization, and watering.

Storing Nuts
Chestnuts may be planted in the fall, as soon as they drop, or stored over winter in a refrigerator.