Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
PA doe tags Going Going..... soon to be gone!!! >

PA doe tags Going Going..... soon to be gone!!!

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

PA doe tags Going Going..... soon to be gone!!!

Old 07-20-2009, 07:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Like all areas if you want to see deer you need to hunt where they are, i have found that most folks hunting by my camp in 2F dont like to travel very far off the beaten path, however it may be also that i see older guys hunting up there. However being a college student i have only been able to make it up for the opener of rifle so havent applied for a doe tag up there. I go up for the experience of being at DEER CAMP with the elders in the family to share the time and hear the stories. Also, idk where exactly you all hunt there but i see deer every year. Granted it may only be 2 or 3 running down the mountain at 100 mph but i still see deer. i actually had a very nice 6 point (3 and 3) without brows about 17 inch wide come right in on me last yr however i forgot that it was only 3 on a side there and let him walk. Later that evening at camp i was kicking myself for not realizing my mistake earlier but oh well thats huntin.
Old 07-20-2009, 09:25 AM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by R.S.B.
Yep back when that estimate was provided the habitat was supporting more deer, but only because we had been experiencing a run of good mast crop years being combined with mild winters. That allowed the deer herds to increase beyond what the habitat could sustain long term.

That was evidenced by the fact that the deer herd crashed two years after the increased harvests instead of with the beginning of the increased harvests.