Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Mass Bucks

Old 01-27-2008, 08:43 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Mass Bucks

Thanks for the info Bob, I was actually in Chicopee last night at the Max Cap for the amateur fights. Of the WMA is there any that you would suggest over the others? since i'm a student I have pretty limited time for scouting and such so any advice would be great. Is it just me or are Mass hunting regulations a pain in the @$$? You can't use a rifle to deer hunt you have to use a shotgun,, muzzleloader or bow, but then you can't use a shotgun to bear hunt you have to use a rifle, muzzleloader or bow. haha and don't get me started on their gun laws...I would mostly be interested in bow hunting anyway. How are things in Connecticut as far as hunting?
Old 01-28-2008, 06:42 AM
Giant Nontypical

Gmil, there is some great hunting in Russell MA (watershed) down to Tyringham (Beartown Mtn).... Not too bad of a ride from Springfield either...

Old 01-28-2008, 10:12 AM
jf5

ORIGINAL: Western MA Hunter

Gmil, there is some great hunting in Russell MA (watershed) down to Tyringham (Beartown Mtn).... Not too bad of a ride from Springfield either...
Isn't cobble Mtn weatershedclosed to hunting?? Or you talking westfield watershed??
Old 01-28-2008, 11:44 AM
Typical Buck

thanks for the info guys
Old 01-28-2008, 08:00 PM
Fork Horn

Gmil,

When I hunt in Mass I tend to hunt in zone 8 in the Sturbridge /Southbrige area. Most of My archery hunting is done in Connecticut. In Connecticut you can bowhunt from Sept 15th thru Dec 31 and you get 2 either sex tags and 2 antlerless tags. And the archery tags are good anywhere in the state. You can also hunt the month of January in zones 11 and 12.