Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 Snort/Wheeze no good in PA????? >

Snort/Wheeze no good in PA?????

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Snort/Wheeze no good in PA?????

Old 10-10-2007, 08:36 AM

Default Snort/Wheeze no good in PA?????

I was reading an article in the PA Game news yesterday, and the article this guy wrote says the buck roar and wheeze is no good. Now im not an expert on calling however I have had very good luck ratling and calling at time. Grunts, the can, rattle bag etc. I have the Buck Roar and used it a few times this season, with no luck yet. I chalked it up to the fact rut wont be here for a few weeks and the weather. Can anyone explain why the wheeze is no good in PA and good in other states? Im baffled.
Old 10-10-2007, 09:10 AM
Spike

Default RE: Snort/Wheeze no good in PA?????

From what I have read and watched the roar is a dominance or challenge call not a curiosity call. Try waiting until the chase phase of the rut or when you see a dominant buck just looking for love or a fight
Old 10-10-2007, 09:10 AM
Giant Nontypical

only thing i can think of is our rut isnt as intense as other areas due to the buck to doe ratio...BUT, i think we are getting closer and should start seeing better rutting activity. id say after halloween your call MIGHT work on some deer in some areas.

i might try calling this weekend if i goto the mountains. major cold snap and unpressured deer. my buddy that bowhunts up there sees alot of success from calling. not sure how early he calls...but i might try this weekend just rattling and grunting a bit...im running outta time..i wanna MAKE something happen...this cold snap aughta have deer moving...not saying rutting or seeking or chasing...but moving better...
Old 10-10-2007, 10:11 AM
Giant Nontypical

What article was that? I read game news and don't recall it.