Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 Jefferson Proving Grounds >

Jefferson Proving Grounds

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Jefferson Proving Grounds

Old 10-12-2004, 04:19 PM

Default Jefferson Proving Grounds

Anybody ever hunt the Jefferson Proving Grounds before?
Old 10-13-2004, 09:10 AM

Default RE: Jefferson Proving Grounds

No. My wife went to school at Hanover, and she told me that they allowed hunting in the past, but she is not sure that they still do. Your best bet is to contact the Indiana DNR and see what they say.
Old 10-13-2004, 10:40 AM

Im a current student at Hanover College. They allow hunting there i was just wondering if anybody has hunt there to give me some tips.
Old 10-13-2004, 01:41 PM

Well i hunted there last year, and passed on a 6 pointer early and now i wish i'ed taken him? I hunted area 32 and went in with a climber and stayed all day, you have alot of hunters that seem too keep the deer moving, take some munchie and water and stay put, I still think you have to attened a hunter safty course ( not a problem watch a film), try and do it day before you hunt. also you must bee out of your area before 6pm, Was runing late one night and the gaurd gets alittle upset. Plan on seeing alot of deer from the highway as you drive buy the evening before, it will get you so FIRED up. Or you going during Bow or Gun. Good luck either way.

Dave22
Old 10-13-2004, 08:19 PM

Im gonna go bow this weekend and gun when it opens. Dave, did you go bow or gun when you went? Is the 6 pointer the only deer you saw? Did you get drawn to hunt befroe or did you go the day of and go for the no show drawing?
Old 10-13-2004, 09:09 PM