HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Midwest (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest-25/)
-   -   Iowa deer hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest/388997-iowa-deer-hunting.html)

bigbuck57 01-15-2014 08:59 AM

Iowa deer hunting

If you had a choice would you rather hunt 1st shot season in Iowa or late Muzzleloader Season. What is your best chance for harvesting a decent buck?

racksnbeards 01-16-2014 07:57 AM

Depends on how much time you’re going to hunt and what your hunting, private, public, guided?

As a resident I prefer late ML. I hunt second season shotgun, but late ML is my second choice if I know I will be busy during shotgun.

With the deer herd numbers being down I’d advise any non-resident to wait a year or two. Kill numbers where down 18% first season, but tag purchases where down 7%. I haven’t seen numbers for the other gun seasons. We seen far less deer, found a few EHD cases and heard a fraction of the shooting this year compared to even last year which was hit pretty hard with EHD. Don’t quote me on this, but as of today it looks like we took about 50,000 less deer this year then last, nothing official just comparing 2012’s total to what’s been reported so far for 2013.

racksnbeards 01-16-2014 10:54 AM

Originally Posted by racksnbeards (Post 4116476)
With the deer herd numbers being down I’d advise any non-resident to wait a year or two. Kill numbers where down 18% first season, but tag purchases where down 7%. I haven’t seen numbers for the other gun seasons. We seen far less deer, found a few EHD cases and heard a fraction of the shooting this year compared to even last year which was hit pretty hard with EHD. Don’t quote me on this, but as of today it looks like we took about 50,000 less deer this year then last, nothing official just comparing 2012’s total to what’s been reported so far for 2013.

My mistake, it looks like Iowa is down roughly 15,000 from last year.