HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Midwest (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest-25/)
-   -   New Hunter in Central IL with Questions! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest/384997-new-hunter-central-il-questions.html)

DeadPhoenix 09-13-2013 08:39 PM

New Hunter in Central IL with Questions!

Hello everyone! I'm new here. First I suppose I'll start with a bit of an introduction. I'm pretty much a tomboy and live in Central IL. Fished and been home out in the timber since I was little, I ride a motorcycle and enjoy mushroom hunting and generally everything outdoors. My dad wasn't a hunter but I have a couple uncles who aren't very close to me that hunt and I always wanted to learn but never could. Other than them I never knew anyone who could show me the ropes.

Long story short, I finally took the safety class and passed and this is my first year with a hunting license. Currently getting a taste of hunting by blasting doves so far, but deer are going to be my highlight---What I'm really excited about hunting! I'm getting a bow in the next few weeks and will be practicing hard to throw myself out there when season is in. I have no access to private land as of now, so public it is. I intend to just bow hunt, as I didn't apply for the drawing for taking deer with a gun.

I live right by Clinton Lake and have grown up knowing every part of it. Last winter I started shed hunting and found some nice antlers out there and did a lot of scouting in the process. Also found a buck skeleton in some thick brush I think someone shot and lost by a creek. Put a lot of miles under the belt. I saw and mapped out some of the areas with the thickest sign and have some detailed ideas on where to try.