Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

food plot help

Old 11-26-2012, 04:01 PM
Fork Horn

Default food plot help

Hey all, I am new to the food plot planting. I have about 4 acres of fields that I will be planting in the spring. I know what I will be planting as far as main food source goes, what I am curious about is the clover type of food. I heard through a buddy that full draw is the best of the best. I am curious as to what your thoughts are. I am very interested in hearing what has worked for you guys and gals. I am in WI and where my land is it is kind of sandy soil. I have no problem liming and will be getting a PH test done early spring. I wont be planting a ton of clover but probably a acre total over a large area. Thanks for your input....
Old 11-27-2012, 03:38 AM
Spike

I use Whitetail Institute imperial clover. The deer are in it all spring and summer. I also plant Chicory.
Old 11-27-2012, 04:22 AM
Banned

Find the seed and feed store the farmers use and buy their clover by the pound. I save lots of money this way and have had excellent results. Picture of one of my small plots; I plant in the fall here in NC. I use a combo of oats, grazing rye, rape, and perinnael clovers. Deer eat oats and rape first, then the rye, than the clover. Clover comes in strong in spring and attracts turkey.

Good luck!
Attached Thumbnails food plot help-photo252.jpg  
Old 11-27-2012, 07:15 AM
Fork Horn

Do you mow the food plots to keep the clover short and fresh? I have had guys tell me to do that. Guys have also told me that the clover is very aggressive and will take over. Not sure what is true and what isn't... Thanks for the info. Great pic gm4511..
Old 11-27-2012, 07:52 AM
Banned