HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Midwest (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest-25/)
-   -   Learning about hunting in IL (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest/314160-learning-about-hunting-il.html)

dek 01-04-2010 08:45 AM

Learning about hunting in IL

Hello all, I was looking for a forum to ask questions about hunting, and this was the first google result :)

i'm a 28yo USAF veteran living in DeKalb IL, I've recently sent in my FOID application, hoping to hear back soon so I can buy a few guns.

My dad is going to give me a semi-auto 22 rifle and a very old single shot 16 gauge shotgun. I'm looking to take these and go rabbit or squirrel hunting somewhere - I was looking for a way to get started hunting with a minimum of required equipment.

I'm looking for advice and links, really, to information about where I could hunt, what laws I will need to follow, essential equipment, etc.

I am really having a lot of trouble finding information on public land where it would be legal to hunt rabbit or squirrel. Seems to be plenty of information on deer and duck, which I don't think i'm ready for.

Any replies will be appreciated. :D

David

Demo92 01-04-2010 09:33 AM

pick up a copy of the hunting rules and regs booklet. they have a list of the public areas and what u can hunt at each site. as far as equipment it all depends on how serious u want to get. to start off with, get u some good winter clothes and go have fun.

good luck.

uncle matt 01-04-2010 01:57 PM

You can view the IL Digest of Hunting & Trapping regulations online at this site......

http://dnr.state.il.us/admin/digest/

And you can find more detailed info about specific sites online at this site.....

http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/PARKS/index.htm

Most of the guys here are always glad to help so don't be afraid to ask questions.

dek 01-05-2010 07:24 AM

thanks guys, i'll check that stuff out. Uncle Matt, is that your hand? :o