Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 Indiana Hunters >

Indiana Hunters

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Indiana Hunters

Old 11-22-2008, 12:44 PM
Spike

Default RE: Indiana Hunters

Why am I not seeing any deer at all? I am new and put my stands up kinda late along some well traveled trails. This is my first year deer hunting and I just wanted some tips.
Old 11-22-2008, 06:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

I just got back from hunting Kosioscko(sp) County. Some great property up there. About 9 of us did a deer drive at 1:30 in the afternoon. I sat down on the ground on the edge of a small woodlot while a few other guys walked the riverbottom down below. Had 9 deer run right to me, one was an 8 point buck. Did not realize it was a buck until he was right to me, had a small rack. Anyways, 2 of the guys on the bottom got 2 huge doe. Ended up seeing about 40 deer total this afternoon, but only the 1 buck. I normally don't do a deer drive but i guess the land owners do it on this place pretty often so i at least tried it out, plus they were trying hard to get this guy from Michigan a deer. He came down just to deer hunt the weekend. I still would rather just sit in a stand all day though. Hopefully i am invited back, it was some of the best deer land i have ever stepped foot on.
Old 11-24-2008, 05:55 AM
Spike

Well, I went out this weekend and had beautiful weather. Nice frost and no wind! My father and I went out behind his houseSAturday and seen a total of 10 deer, 1 little spike 4 pt and 9 does. My dad took a nice sized doe. Sunday I didnt see much but more does. But it was a great weekend.
Old 11-24-2008, 07:39 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm a little late to the party, but here is a photo of my buck this year off a game cam 5 days before I took him opening morning. We did not download this picture until several days after he was in the freezer: