Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
what gun is good for cyotes in ohio >

what gun is good for cyotes in ohio

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

what gun is good for cyotes in ohio

Old 12-27-2002, 12:39 PM

Default what gun is good for cyotes in ohio

i am just getting started cyote and varmit hunting in northwest ohio and was wondering if ne one could tell me a good gun for about $400 or $500. thinking about a remington .223 or 22-250.
Old 12-27-2002, 12:58 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 12-28-2002, 12:33 AM

Default RE: what gun is good for cyotes in ohio

A 22-250 or 243 either one will do a fantastic job of eliminating those pesky song dogs.Good luck fun sport and you can at least get a little cash outa the pelts

SHOOT STRAIGHT >>>--------> Troy
Old 12-30-2002, 11:05 AM
Super Moderator

You can't beat a 22-250 loaded with a full jacketed bullet. (Saves the pelt!)

"Semper Fi"
Old 01-04-2003, 12:20 AM

Dear Big,

It depends on how you hunt. If you are calling at night, a shotgun may be suitable. For daytime shooting, I like a .223. It has less recoil and if you can get them close, just as much kill power.

Good Luck with the Duck!
Old 01-04-2003, 05:09 AM

My buddy uses 223 and swears by it. Has the pelts to prove his success. Sounds like either gun will do the job. I prefer bow and arrow. Maybe thats why I have never shot one.
Old 02-01-2003, 10:13 PM

I have been hunting yotes for as long as i can remember and used a lot of guns and i wouldnt trade my Winchester modle 70 blackshadow
25-06 for any thing its the best gun i have used for yotes and deer for that fact its sooo quick
Old 02-02-2003, 11:43 PM
Fork Horn