Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
Lost Hunting Land......Any Advice from WI? >

Lost Hunting Land......Any Advice from WI?

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Lost Hunting Land......Any Advice from WI?

Old 11-29-2002, 11:26 PM

Default Lost Hunting Land......Any Advice from WI?

Well, this is surely a dark day for me. This was my third year hunting property that my former landlord owns. I treated the land as my own, because I used to rent a house on this land. I watched it like a hawk and was always running off trespassers. This land holds special meaning for me as this is where my hunting memories began. I got started hunting late in life, at the ripe old age of 22. I couldn't get anyone to teach me to hunt so I am 100% completely self taught. I still vividly remember every detail of all my successful hunts, as well as some painful lessons learned while sitting up a tree. Now I guess you could say that I have a certain nack for hunting. (My dream is to be a professional hunter someday) The first time I attempted to hunt anything was September 16, 2000 opening day of the whitetail bow season. I climbed into my tree at about 3:00am because I was so excited. At 7:00am I slipped an arrow through a respectable 8 point buck. Gun season of that year, I put a slug through a 7 point buck, and a few days later I took a doe. My ex-wife bought me a brand new Thompson Center inline muzzleloader for father's day and I shot a very large doe. In 2001 I slipped an arrow through a respectable 5 point buck. Gun season I shot a doe, and a few days later I knocked down a monster one horned 4 point swamp buck. 2002 I shot a yearling buck to get my earn a buck tag, and after 3 years of struggling I brought down a huge doe with a quartering away heart shot, from my trusty bow. I slipped an arrow through my best buck yet, a very nice 5 point, and I took another doe before the