HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Midwest (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest-25/)
-   -   Shed hunting help (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/midwest/134157-shed-hunting-help.html)

CRIMSON512 02-23-2006 01:38 PM

Shed hunting help

So this is my first year shed hunting and i've had no luck. I was wondering what I do wrong I mean I walk the woods slowly and search almost as if i'm trying to pick up a blood trail but i've had no luck. I aslo search high density deer areas that I know have big bucks. The only antler i've found is a ugly 4 pt. drop tine that was on a deer hit by a train. Please post me with some hints I have spent well over 50 hours in the woods with the only success being a railroad kill buck.
Thank you,
Keith Wilson

15pointer 02-23-2006 01:42 PM

RE: Shed hunting help

I found some by lookin in heavily traveled paths.. (deer trails). Dont really look for blood more than antler. Blood washes away antlers dont. I have only found one 4 point also. i am goin to wait a couple of weeks.

mahoningbuck 02-23-2006 04:59 PM

I have been out twice but have yet to find any sheds. I was talking with my buddy on tuesday and he said he has seen bucks with antlers along with a couple half racks. I think in the next three weeks things will change! This was in Delaware County

emo 02-23-2006 08:10 PM

One of my mbrs. harvested a large buck during black powder that had droped it's rack. I have been walking the runs where I have found the in the past but no luck so far. Maybe a little early. lazyshuntclub.org

bowtech die hard 02-23-2006 10:05 PM

sheds are tough to find anyways, just train your eyes like you would for mushrooms.

CRIMSON512 02-24-2006 01:36 AM