HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Hunting Gear Discussion (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion-32/)
-   -   white tail deer decoy...when...how (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion/54714-white-tail-deer-decoy-when-how.html)

imgeetus 03-02-2004 07:07 AM

white tail deer decoy...when...how

anyone use deer decoys? I got one for christmas, can be used with or without antlers. You can break it down and store the limbs inside the body cavity. I heard they work great, but when to use them, when do you use the antlers? when dont you use the antlers? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! thank you

PABowhntr 03-02-2004 10:02 AM

RE: white tail deer decoy...when...how

I have limited experience with decoying for deer. I have used one on several occasions but always with mixed results. I, obviously, have not gotten it down to the science that many others have.

Some basic suggestions would be to keep the decoy outside for a few days before placing it in the field to get rid of much of the human scent. Also spraying it with odor eliminator and wearing gloves when setting it up is normally recommended. Some folks also attach a small white rag to the tail area. This serves two purposes...One, you get some movement if the breeze picks up. That makes the decoy look more realistic. Two, you can apply some scent to it so that, again, it appears more realistic.

Most folks also recommend that you face the decoy broadside from your position so that when a deer comes to either mount it or fight with it then the deer will also be in a broadside position.

imgeetus 03-02-2004 11:38 AM

Thank you very much for your input.

Kyler 03-11-2004 09:52 PM

I have used a buck decoy over the years and have had good success with it.