HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Hunting Gear Discussion (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion-32/)
-   -   [Deleted] (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion/53449-deleted.html)

Deleted User 02-18-2004 03:39 PM

[Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]

MOTurkeyTamer 02-18-2004 04:08 PM

RE: Gut hook knife blades?

I have been using a Buck Zipper w/ the Sure Grip handle for several years now. The gut hook works like a charm on deer. You can really open up the cavity quickly without cutting into something you're not supposed to! I highly recommend them.

JagMagMan 02-18-2004 05:09 PM

They do work good, I just don't need it!

deerhuntress56 02-18-2004 05:24 PM

:)I use what is called a "Wyoming Knife"........is the greatest knife for cleaning game. Just start a hole, insert the "hook" and make ONE clean sweep!!:D Cabelas has them now!! Took me over a year to find my first 14 years ago!!;)

skeeter 7MM 02-18-2004 08:06 PM

I have always found the guthooks like the buck zipper posted ball up and really aren't a great benefit( maybe it is just our fat canadian whitetails). For deer I don't use a gut hook. I have used the Wyoming Knife and it works. I do have big gut hook as part of my Kershaw Blade Trader set and it works very nicley on Moose and Elk, it has a very sizeable gut hook will not ball up(I imagine it would be just fine for deer and other game as well). It actually doubles as a skinner blade so I have found it to be quite useful.

Otis you might want to look into the Kershaw Blade Trader, it comes with the guthook/skinner, drop blade, Saw, handle and case for around 100 bucks. You can also buy other blades for like a fillet knife, chef knife, etc. I have really become found of mine it has an excellent nonslip handle on it, blades sharpen and hold edge nicely...for the money it is a pretty decent setup.

WAYNE1 02-18-2004 08:11 PM