Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Vari -X II or III?

Old 02-13-2004, 06:10 AM

Default Vari -X II or III?

The wife said to get a new scope, and I've got my eye on a Leupold. I can't decide between the vari-X II or III, 40 or 50 mm objective. "Some" people say that there is no difference in overall clarity between a 50 mm Vari-X II, and a 40 mm Vari-X III. There is quite a price difference between the two. I would like some advice/opinions before I make this decision. The scope will be mounted on a Rem. .270.
Old 02-13-2004, 07:21 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 02-13-2004, 08:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Vari -X II or III?

I have several vari-x III 50mm scopes and i have one vari-x II 50mm. I'm no scope expert but the III is suppose to have a better lense than the II but to be completely honest with you i can't really tell any difference in the two just by looking through them as far as clarity goes and i don't think you will either. Leupold makes great optics and i think you will be satisfied with which ever one you choose. Good luck.
Old 02-13-2004, 08:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

Leupold just came out with the VX III to replace the Vari X III, so take a look at those also. I'd stick with the 40mm if it were me. And actually, I have a 3.5-10x40 VX III on order right now. I think in the long run you'd be happier with the 40mm. It'll give you plenty of light to shoot with during legal hours. Also, consider the Zeiss Conquest. The 3-9x40 is less than a comparable Leupold and the Conquest is a very good scope. I've got two of them and they're better than any Vari X III I've ever owned.
Old 02-13-2004, 09:27 AM
Giant Nontypical