HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Hunting Gear Discussion (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion-32/)
-   -   Leupold, Pooheyyyy. (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion/42619-leupold-pooheyyyy.html)

strut 11-09-2003 06:52 PM

Leupold, Pooheyyyy.

Well I finally broke down and bought a Leupold VXII and got it mounted and de-mounted today. I have been using an old Tasco World Class on this rifle for about 15 years. It would consistently shoot 1-2" inches groups at a 100 yards. After about a box and a half of ammo I gave up on the Leupold, seemed like sometimes when you move the scope it would' nt move at all and then the next time you could move it just 1 or 2 clicks and it might change the point of impact almost a foot, I was shooting a regular target with a 1" red dot in the center, When I would finally get it to within a couple inches of the red and start trying to fine tune it by moving it just 1 or 2 clicks, it might shoot 3 or 4 inches off the other side of the red. I finally had to put my old Tasco back on the rifle and with 5 shots I had it just where I wanted it, with the last 2 shots about 3/4" apart at the top of the red. I hope Leopold will do something for me but I really wanted to use it this season but looks like that will be out, Very frustrating to say the least.

victorlvlb 11-09-2003 07:14 PM

RE: Leupold, Pooheyyyy.

I had the same problem back in 1975.Had a gunsmith install a leupold scope on my 3006.Turn out he used the wrong hardware.Same thing happened to my son three years later.We don' t use that gunsmith anymore.

strut 11-09-2003 07:20 PM

I have a set of Redfield bases and rings on this gun, I don' t know what hardware I would have wrong?

skeeter 7MM 11-09-2003 09:13 PM