Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Bow hunting boots

Old 08-16-2020, 09:42 AM
Spike

Default Bow hunting boots

Hi guys-

Newbie here hoping to get some advice.

I’m 54 years old, terrible feet. I can’t be stomping around in rubber boots any more.

My tree stand sites are deep in the woods, a big of a height and very technical.

Looking for a decent hunting boot.

-warm
-good arch support like a hiking/work boot
-but scent controlling properties of the rubber boots I’ve been using for years.

No more Frankenstein boots.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Old 08-19-2020, 04:31 AM
Fork Horn

If you have bad feet I would advise getting light boots and maybe doctor scholls custom inserts and Walmart has that thing you stand on and they tell you what to pick. Its expensive, but if it works.

I have found with ten pair of boots, none do it all. I use light archery boots most times and when it gets cold I pack boot blankets to slip on once in the stand. I have 3/4 mile hike in walks many times and strap my over clothes to the back pack also.

I have my boots in my ozone closet for scent control.
Old 08-19-2020, 06:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

I agree no one pair of boots does it all, better to have several pairs pending where hunting, hiking, weather/temps!

and I have NEVER had any issues with animals scenting my leather boots, I keep ALL my hunting boots for JUST HUNTING, they NEVER, get worn in trucks or stores or?? they get kept in scent free totes with my hunting gear, I dress at hunting site,before entering hunting area, and they get taken off and back in totes when done hunting before getting back in vehicle!, have done this for 30 yrs or so,

cannot tell you how many times I have had deer bed near me down wind at times, or fields of animals in food plots in ALL directions of me