Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hunting Gear Discussion
Best rifle and caliber for 16 yr. old big game hunter >

Best rifle and caliber for 16 yr. old big game hunter

Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Best rifle and caliber for 16 yr. old big game hunter

Old 05-08-2015, 08:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

Another $.02.

I have very little experience hunting "big" critters. Just one elk in the bag. No bear hunting. No moose hunting. But I have hunted white tail, mule deer and feral hogs a bunch .... for 50+ years now. As many others have already stated, the fit and feel of the rifle are big drivers in what I suggest that you select. There are so many good factory grade rifles out there right now that you could hardly go wrong. My advise is try out as many as you can. My personal favorite is the Styer Pro Hunter.

As for scope ... buy the highest quality scope that you can afford. You will never regret having done so.

As for caliber .... 30 caliber is my choice. The 30.06 Spr. is certainly one of the best choices for an all around hunting cartridge out there. My personal preference is the 308 Win.

There is nothing wrong with being "limited' to factory loads. I would imagine that there are over 100 choices in 30.06 Spr. factory ammo available. The key is finding that one that groups best out of your rifle. If you decide on the 30.06 Spr., try a few factory choices that are loaded with a 180 gr. bullet. My experience is that most I have sighted in liked one or more factory load that incorporated a 180 gr. spitzer type bullet.
Old 05-08-2015, 08:18 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Mojotex
Another $.02.

My personal preference is the 308 Win.

I do have the hunting experience and was in that same situation some years ago - bought my son a 308. He's grown now and buys his own rifles, but that 308 is still one of his favorites!