Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

First Deer Hunting Rifle

Old 10-28-2014, 04:27 PM
Spike

Default First Deer Hunting Rifle

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie looking for some help here. I am really looking forward to purchasing my first rifle, primarily for deer hunting here in PA, but am quite lost on what I should buy. I've done a lot of Google searching and have come across suggestions for a Marlin X7, Stevens 200, Savage Arms 111, Savage Axis, Remington 770 (which I read is poop), Remington 700...etc etc.

I don't know where to start. I am also wondering if a 270 Win would be better than a .30-06 (ammo availability, type of hunting, etc).

So, excuse my newbieness, but can I get some help here? Ultimately, I want to buy a rifle that will last and that I can even pass down to my little son some day. I don't want a budget rifle for the sake of having a rifle, but if there are ones out there for less than $500 that would be worth it, I'm all ears!

If there are other things you guys would need to know in order to better direct me, I would really appreciate it. I'm a novice with terms, as well, so if you use a bunch of acronyms, you'll confuse me more.

Cheers!
Old 10-28-2014, 05:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

for a new hunter would be hard to beat a 7mm/08, will kill any deer or bear or elk that ever walked, gentle recoil, ammo is readily available. I have one, along with the 270's, 6mm's, 25's, you will not go wrong with the lil 7
RR
Old 10-28-2014, 07:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

Save most of your budget for good optics, rings, bases, ammo and targets !

I like a .243 for a first deer (predator) rifle, but the .270 is my choice for hunting deer; north, south, east or west.
Old 10-29-2014, 05:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

You are going to get many opinions as to which brand and caliber (Ford vs. Chevy, etc.) with this question, so take the responses with a grain of salt.