Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Cold Weather Gear

Old 10-16-2013, 09:27 AM
Spike

Default Cold Weather Gear

Hey all! New to the community and really like the site.

I have been hunting in South Dakota for about 5 years and have yet to make a big purchase on some great pants for the cold. I have my bibs but they are too bulky. I am currently looking at Cabela's Dry-Plus® Silent Suede™ Pants. They are at a reasonable price and from what I have read, they are very high quality. Another bonus is they have Zonz Western camo (basically camo for out west) as an option.

I also know ScentBlocker and Under Armour have some high quality pants but I don't know much about them.

I'm looking for something that will stay dry in the snow so I'm afraid a fleece/wool outer is not really an option for me.

Let me know what you guys think!
Old 10-18-2013, 01:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Well it depends

Some people can depend only on the latest iphone. Some people can get by with a plain ole cell phone.
Some people have survived on polypropylene insulated underwear and wool sweaters. Some people still have some and still fit in them.
Old 10-18-2013, 03:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

A lot depends on what you're doing in the snow to begin with. The clothing that keeps you warm when you're sitting will cause you to overheat (and sweat, and ultimately get cold) when you're moving.