HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Hunting Gear Discussion (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion-32/)
-   -   Please help, total newb here (which gun, etc) (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hunting-gear-discussion/372947-please-help-total-newb-here-gun-etc.html)

Kamel 09-23-2012 07:01 PM

Please help, total newb here (which gun, etc)

Hey guys, great to see such a forum exists! My step-father was a big hunter but unfortunately before I got a chance to learn the ropes he passed away.

I don't really have anyone to be a mentor, but do have a friend who says he might go hunting with me sometime who has some experience.

I've run across some major questions when it comes to what equipment to get and so on. Let me begin by saying I have absolutely nothing, I'll have to get anything and everything I'll need to begin hunting.

I'm looking to begin hunting with bird/turkey/waterfowl/etc. Once I get comfortable with that, I'd like to eventually go on to bigger game such as hogs and deer. I also am on a shoestring budget (who isn't these days).

My first question is which gun do you think I should get first? I've been considering different guns for different reasons, and don't want to be unrealistic, I know eventually I'll probably need more than one gun.

What I'd like to do though is begin with the most versatile gun possible. This would keep me from feeling restricted in the type of game I go for by the gun. That would also help me get a feel for what type of game I enjoy hunting most and possibly then get a gun more specific to that.

I'd also prefer to get a gun I could possibly use as home defense as well, but that is not a major priority. The home defense thing is just a "just in case" kind of thing, what I'm really getting the gun for is hunting.

So far here's my thoughts: