Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hunting Gear Discussion
I need help on picking a scope. >

I need help on picking a scope.

Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

I need help on picking a scope.

Old 01-17-2012, 08:12 AM
Spike

Default I need help on picking a scope.

Hi, I'm fairly new to hunting, but I have a Remington Genesis ML and hunt in Ohio primarily during deer season, I'm interested in upgrading my scope, I killed a doe this year with the stocked scope, but I'm looking for something far more better in the 180$-220$ range. If anyone has any advice for me that'd be great including on what to use as the propellant should i use pellets, or loose powder? Thanks and it's much appreciated.
Old 01-17-2012, 01:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Leupold VX-II, Nikon Pro Staff or Buckmaster, or Bushnell Trophy, I like the 3-9x40
Old 01-18-2012, 10:19 PM
Typical Buck

In that price range I would take a look at the Burris Fullfield II or E1. I would also use loose powder because you can really dial in a load with it.
Old 01-21-2012, 03:12 PM
Typical Buck

Burris fulfield II , great scope for the $
Old 01-21-2012, 09:20 PM
Typical Buck

Bushnells have held up well on my guns. Just got a new Vortex that I have yet to try.
Old 01-22-2012, 02:30 AM
Fork Horn

I have a Leatherwood on mine.
Old 01-26-2012, 03:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Hey Duckhunter, I used to be in the Perryville 1140th, back when I was young. I was in the USAF 61-66, never went to Nam, tho. Live in Ripley Co.
Now to scopes. I have a cheap Bushnell on a 30-06, it is a 1.5-4.5. It is clear, picks up light well and has a very wide field of view. I think they sell for about $70 full price and it works great. I don't care for a large scope with a big objective lens, this one is about 32mm. It says "Banner" on the side.
Old 02-02-2012, 07:17 PM
Typical Buck

Vortex Diamondback!!