Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Cold weather hunting clothes

Old 01-01-2011, 09:18 PM
Spike

Default Cold weather hunting clothes

Im looking at getting some good hunting clothes. I was wondering would you rather buy clothes for the coldest weather you are going to hunt in and then just wear less in the warmer weather. Trying to do this the cheapest way possible and not have to much rapped up in hunting clothes.
Old 01-02-2011, 03:28 AM
Typical Buck

I got all new hunting clothes this year. I had been using army pants and field jacket for over 15 years. I got an insulated fleece on clearance from Bass Pro last spring. That thing is great down to about 40 degrees. Just before this season I got an Arctic Shield H3 coat from Bass Pro and really like it. It isn't real thick but is very warm. They claim it is the warmest for the amount of insulation it has. I can use it with or without a fleece under it. When it gets really cold, I use insualted bibs I got a couple seasons ago. So with just three pieces of outer wear, I can hunt in almost any temperature. Total investment is about $250. Well worth it.
Old 01-02-2011, 05:37 AM
Fork Horn

Wool...You can get pants for under a hundred and a good jack shirt (wool also) for around $60. Smart wool longjohns and you can layer more shirts so it can be removed as it gets warmer during the day. Cotton kills thats a fact so don't even think about it.
Several companies make wool pants:
Woolrich
Johnsons (vermont)
Bid wool overalls are nice but they get real warm.
Old 01-04-2011, 01:38 AM
Spike

thanks for the answers ill keep them in mind for when i decide to spend the $$
Old 01-13-2011, 01:30 PM
Giant Nontypical