Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Lone Wolf Hand Climber!!!

Old 09-09-2009, 03:20 PM
Spike

Default Lone Wolf Hand Climber!!!

I got a real good deal on a Lone Wolf climbing stand at the end of last season. I have 2 of their Alpha Hang On stands and like them alot. I took the climber out today to try it out. Now, just to let you know I have been climbing with climbers for 20 years and have used several different brands, so I am familiar with climbing. I have been using a Summit Viper for several years and love it, except for the cumbersome packing and carrying. Now the Lone Wolf, it SUCKS!!! The platform is great, but the little hand climber seat was terrible!!! I tried using my elbows, I tried sitting in the strap that they send, I even tried putting it way over my head and doing pull ups!! It just flat out sucks period!!! There is no way that I would take this stand out to hunt, it is dangerous, slow, and loud. I had one about 6 years ago that was the first sit and climb and I was not all that impressed with it either. The bar you sit on swings you into the tree and crowds you, forcing you to take 6 inch strides up the tree. Again the platform is great, but why can they not make a top that has a bar you can sit on while you climb and not be forced into the tree (fixed out front like Summit)? When I sit on the bar of the Summit I can climb so much quieter and take way longer strides up or down the tree. I Understand that they want the bar to fold away on the sit and climb, but could they not fix it to lock into position to sit on and fold out of the way when you get up there? The bar out front does not bother me anyway and I mostly bow hunt. I would love to have the new wide sit and climb if there was a way to fix the bar into a fixed position to sit on. Has anyone else ever used both styles of stands and experienced what I am talking about? Sorry I