Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Safety Vest Harness

Old 07-05-2009, 03:54 PM

Default Safety Vest Harness

Hi Everyone,

I am new and this is my first post. I am 51 and I am trying to outfit both my son and I for our first ever bow season. I am shocked out how much money I have laid out so far and I am just getting started. I bought a couple of used climbing tree stands and I need to get some safety vests. I am looking at: Hunt'EM High, Treestalker HSS-7, Real Tree/ Mossey Oak ReversibleHSS-4/HSS-2/L, and the Pro Series HSS-6. Notice that I listed them in order of cost. Please tell me what you like, don't like, or would recommend in terms of these harness vests. My Loggy Bayou stand came with a full body harness that is strong but looks like spagetti. I am sure it works but I don't want to be putting that on at night on the way to my tree. I would appreciate your feedback and any safe but lower cost recommendations.

Thanks!

Pale~
Old 07-06-2009, 04:33 AM

Default RE: Safety Vest Harness

I used to feel the same as you; however, there is no price too steep for a safety vest. We are talking about your life, your son's life.....or quality of life after a fall.

The facts speak for themselves......one in three hunters that hunt from treestands will fall at some point in their hunting lifetimes. That is just what gets reported.

My advice.....keep the spaghetti straps in a scent-proof container just like the rest of your clothing and practice putting them on.....put them on during daylight, put them on in the dark until you get it right.

My personal chioce for my son, my wife, my daughter, and myself is the hunter safety system.

Think how much a wheelchair will cost.....then weigh the cost/benefit analisys of a saftey system.

Old 07-06-2009, 04:57 AM

Thanks, I listed 4 HSS systems. Are all just as good as the other or do you have a preference?