Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
need advice hunting hog. never caught one >

need advice hunting hog. never caught one

Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

need advice hunting hog. never caught one

Old 03-20-2014, 11:23 AM
Spike

Default need advice hunting hog. never caught one

Hi I was wondering what would be the proper steps?

What I had in mind was to set a camo tent and just sit and wait where there are ruts made by the hogs.

I am new to hog hunting so was hoping if anyone has some advice
Old 03-20-2014, 01:53 PM
Spike

Bump any advice?

Is it better to sit still and wait or walk and hunt?
Old 03-21-2014, 08:18 AM
Spike

Corn is gold for a reason... Just saying. Put about 1/3-1/4 of corn in a 5 gallon bucket and poor as much beer as you need to cover it all. Not the nicest or most expensive, whatever's cheapest or have around. Set it in the sun for a week at least. It gets real funky. Pour it out in the area you want to hunt. A tent blind should be fine. If they don't come running to that then get cherry or strawberry jello powder and throw it in the air so it disperses a long distance. A pigs nose is his best defense. Scent killer is a good idea. That's why I said so many "flavorful" baits. If you're somewhat concealed and still then they won't see you. But you won't ever fool their nose.

Bonus bait: deer corn, mustard, water, a can of cream corn, aspuragus, potatoes, and 1 can of beer.

After they gt to coming a bunch then you can ween them down to dry corn. I use the first one regularly. The jello has seemed to work the best, but coons love it too, so be wary.
Old 03-21-2014, 08:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Depends can you hunt them at night in your state? I would put bait 20-30yds from where you put your blind.
Old 03-23-2014, 01:32 PM
Spike