HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Hogs and Exotics (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hogs-exotics-73/)
-   -   Feral Swine in National Forests (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/hogs-exotics/389048-feral-swine-national-forests.html)

Barefoot Friar 01-17-2014 02:50 PM

Feral Swine in National Forests

This is going to be a long post. I'm sorry; I'll try to be as concise as possible.

I'm fairly new to hunting in general, and especially to hog hunting. However, I am a backpacker, and Bankhead National Forest (Alabama) where I spend most of my time is pretty well overrun with them -- particularly in the Sipsey Wilderness area. I've never seen them, but then I've never tried to sneak up on them. But I have heard them and have seen the mess they leave behind, and I've heard others talking about them.

It's a large forest. Black Warrior WMA alone is over 94,000 acres, and that is surrounded by more forest, both NFS and private land. The hogs seem to be concentrated in the northwestern corner. Outside of the national forest, down in the valley, are small farms with trees and brush interspersed. Inside the forest are various places that have been logged, some as recently as last year, and some several years ago. There are also parcels of private land, even in the middle of the WMA.