Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Stalking Vs Tree stand

Old 12-25-2012, 04:40 PM
Spike

Default Stalking Vs Tree stand

I just moved to Florida, and have gone to Green Swamp WMA twice. I was told the best method to hunt hogs is to quietly walk the old roads, listened for the hogs as they feed, then to stalk up on them. I spent many hours on my feet and had no luck, but saw PLTENY of areas the pigs had torn up.
As a walked the roads I saw many tree stands, and am beginning to think that is the way to go. I am new to this pig hunting, and really want a few for the freezer.
Any advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated.
Gabriel
Old 12-26-2012, 02:53 AM
Spike

Wondering about this myself..
Old 12-26-2012, 06:42 AM
Boone & Crockett

I don't know about in Florida; but most of us in Texas use a stand and hunt over baited areas.
Old 12-26-2012, 08:06 AM
Fork Horn

GP I hunt the Green Swamp WMA as well. I prefer to stock the hogs and hunt that way. I killed a big hog this morning actually. Your gonna have to find them in the morning because once it warms up they will be bedded down in the thick palmettos. I find where they root at night on the old roads and follow trails to the thick palmettos. In the morning I hunt the trails in between the locations. All my kills come before 8 am and usually right at 7.
Old 12-26-2012, 03:51 PM
Spike

Default Thanks

Thanks for the advice. I hope to get out to the WMA this Saturday and put the stalk on. Who knows, even a blind squirrel can find a nut.
Old 12-26-2012, 04:10 PM
Fork Horn

I've found more hogs down by the river. Just be ready to walk through the thick stuff and away from the other hunters.
Old 12-29-2012, 11:27 AM
Fork Horn