Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

mule footed hog

Old 11-11-2008, 01:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default mule footed hog

I went hunting this morning and when i was leaving , a friend called and said that he had something that i wanted, lol...then he proceeds to tell me he got a mule footed boar hog in his trap
He trapped a waddled sow about 200lbs. last week and i was just jokng when i told him to go get a mule footed one to breed with her, well that's what he did and that's what he's going to do, woohooo....here are some pics...it's my first time even seeing one myself
Have y'all seen one before ? all 4 of the feet were mule footed

Old 11-11-2008, 02:32 PM
Spike

Default RE: mule footed hog

that's different, but what's the significance? please forgive my ignorance. i'm very new and still learning very much
Old 11-11-2008, 04:33 PM
Boone & Crockett

Thanks for the photo of the nice mule footed hog. i've only read about them.

that's different, but what's the significance? please forgive my ignorance. i'm very new and still learning very much

Reported by Kevin Ryer

Here in East Tx we run across the rare breed only occasionally. They seem rather prolific around Athens, Palestine, Van and Lindale areas. All the MuleFoots I have ran across were prodominately black and tan in color.
When trapped they were unusually aggressive strong animals. More so than the normal feral hogs. Early research indicated that the hogs were first introduced to the US by Easterners in the Early Railroad Days. But I have found no written or historical evidence to back up that claim.

[blockquote]The following information was obtained from an Oklahoma State University web page. I reference that web page to make and publish a study and facts page of my own.