Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Darn Pigs

Old 10-14-2008, 08:18 AM

Default Darn Pigs

We've had it. Pigs are taking over deer camp. Couple of questions.... Can you bait pigs? If so, with what... they seem to like the corn. Feeder spins and the vacuums come out! Can a higher volume of pigs run your deer out? I almost got to stick one this weekend. Nice boar too. First time I have ever been growled at. is that normal? I'm a pig newbie. Any input would be great! Thank you.
Old 10-14-2008, 08:46 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Darn Pigs

You have feders so baiting is legal I would assume. Build a LARGE trap and go to town on them. Do not expect to put a dent in any hog population. Look at their reproductive rates, you are fighting a losing battle. look on the internet for hog trap designs.
Old 10-14-2008, 08:56 AM
Giant Nontypical

You need to go there out of deer season and declare war on the hogs, take as many buddies as you can with rifles and shoot the crap out of them, will you kill them all? hardly likely but they will move on to more friendly surroundings.

Yes they will run the deer off.
Old 10-14-2008, 09:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

Darn right they will run the deer off, and no, you cant kill them fast enough. They breed like rabbits. Two years ago, after getting my buck, I emptied 2 boxes of 270 win from one stand in the course of 1 hour just trying to thin out the pig population! When i went out the next morning, there were just as many pigs as before, just smaller ones. If you let them go for too long, you will get into the same situation we did and have a population of pigs that will out-breed the rate at which you kill them and there will be nothing you can do about it.
Old 10-14-2008, 10:21 AM