Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing
Neck pain from rifle scope position >

Neck pain from rifle scope position

Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Neck pain from rifle scope position

Old 11-14-2019, 10:25 PM
Spike

Default Neck pain from rifle scope position

I recently purchased a Ruger 10/22 and a Vortex Crossfire 2 scope. The shop I bought them from mounted the scope on for free. I was really straining my neck backwards to try and get the proper eye relief, with no luck. Today I finally moved the scope as far towards the muzzle as I possibly can, and I still have to hold the rifle butt about 2 inches away from my shoulder to reach a comfortable position with the correct eye relief. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

I'm new to the hunting world. I am a veteran, and because of that I learned to use a variety of weapons. However, this is my first time using any optics. This is my first gun purchase and I've never done any modding. I would prefer to spend as little as possible to make this work comfortably for now.
Attached Thumbnails Neck pain from rifle scope position-20191115_010457.jpg  

Last edited by anillo; 11-14-2019 at 10:47 PM. Reason: Added picture
Old 11-15-2019, 05:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

first off welcome to the site
next , YES there are lots of things you an do, I still see there is a LITTLE room left on the base to be slide forward a LITTLE more, and that will THEN allow you to move the scope a little farther forward, NOT going to be two inches , but will add some
if that doesn't work, your next option I think, might be finding a scope with different eye relief, as maybe this scope doesn't offer what you need in that, I have never seen this brand /model scope so don;t know the spec's on it, !
and
I have to ask, how tall are you? as this set up normally works for 99% of shooters, unless you have extremely long arms, , this should be working for you, NOT bashing, just asking