Community
Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Copper fouling

Old 07-11-2010, 03:14 PM
Fork Horn

Default Copper fouling

I've heard good things about M-Pro 7 Copper Remover for removing copper fouling. I've never used it before. What has been others experience with it? Pros/cons? Better products at removing copper?
Old 07-12-2010, 12:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

there all pretty much ammonia. i use shooters choice to get the copper out. keep in mind that some guns like a little fowling so i dont get to stressed about getting it all out. a good cleaning with regular hoppes and a copper cleaner once in a while.
Old 07-12-2010, 12:46 PM
Fork Horn

I use Wipe-Out, the foaming bore cleaner, as it does not contain ammonia, and cleans the bore without using a brush. Spray the foam into the barrel, let it sit, patch it out. Very simple and effective.
Old 08-12-2010, 01:58 PM
Fork Horn

windex window cleaner
Old 08-12-2010, 08:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by hoghunting
I use Wipe-Out, the foaming bore cleaner, as it does not contain ammonia, and cleans the bore without using a brush. Spray the foam into the barrel, let it sit, patch it out. Very simple and effective.
I use Wipe Out's Patch out. It's not the foaming bore cleaner that I use but the liquid. I like this stuff, but other than Hoppes and other similar products I've not used much to compare it to.
Old 08-13-2010, 07:47 PM
Fork Horn