Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing
Bedding the stock on my 700ADL >

Bedding the stock on my 700ADL

Community
Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Bedding the stock on my 700ADL

Old 12-15-2010, 09:05 PM
Typical Buck

Default Bedding the stock on my 700ADL

I started a thread under the gun section about new stocks and then later decided bed the factory stock in stead.
http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns...00-3006-a.html

I decided to start a new thread on the bedding project here so I can get help and advise as well as a thread to help anyone else considering doing this for the first time. This is my first time bedding a stock. Here is the kit I ordered, it should be in tomorrow. http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/sid=3..._GEL_4_oz__Kit

Here are a few before pictures. I'll post progress as it comes alone. I found I had some non skid tape (just like sand paper) so I wrapper a 1/2 dowl to make a round sanding block. I started sanding tonight and it works great.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Old 12-16-2010, 05:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

You need to enlarge the recess for the recoil lug, with particular attention to the area to the rear of the lug. As this area takes the majority of the recoil, this is the most important area. This area should be enlarged in the front, back, sides, and bottom.
Old 12-16-2010, 08:37 PM
Boone & Crockett

You also need to make certain that the stock is extremely rough and that you make "gouges" where you are going to apply the bedding material. Epoxy does not like to stick to those factory "tupper ware" synthetic stocks. You have to mechanically lock the epoxy to the stock and not rely completely on the epoxies bonding properties.

The sanding you have done so far isn't nearly rough enough on a plastic synthetic stock.
Old 12-17-2010, 07:25 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by bigbulls