HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Gunsmithing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/gunsmithing-115/)
-   -   Find different scope, drill & tap again or…? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/gunsmithing/333123-find-different-scope-drill-tap-again.html)

7.62NATO 11-01-2010 06:08 AM

Find different scope, drill & tap again or…?

I have a Marlin 512 Slugmaster, which is a 12-ga slug gun (rifled barrel). I bought an inexpensive scope for it the other day (used Weaver K4, 4x38), but I found that it is not really usable with the gun in its current configuration. I purchased the K4 because I got a smoking good deal on it and Weaver is renowned for the accuracy of their adjustment knobs (so as not to make sighting in more expensive than it has to be). The ONLY scope mount that the Slugmaster will take is this Weaver:

Notice how narrow the space is between the two rings. That means you cannot move the scope very far towards or away from the muzzle before the adjustment knobs hit one of the rings. The K4 is a very normal-sized scope with average eye relief, but because of the position of the taps on the receiver (too far forward IMO) and the limited space between the rings, I cannot slide the scope toward the breech enough to get a good FOV without doing some serious rubbernecking. And that is without the added layers of bibs and coat, etc…just in a t-shirt. This is just a picture from the internet to give you an idea. This is the same gun I have but the scope pictured is much smaller, but the objective lens on this one is as far back as I can get mine to go: