Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Round nose in lever 45-70's >

Round nose in lever 45-70's

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Round nose in lever 45-70's

Old 05-04-2005, 06:16 PM
bigcountry

Default Round nose in lever 45-70's

First off, I am new to tubular mags. A few months ago if it didn't have a bolt, I didn't want anything to do with it. Has anyone you know every had a mishap with sharp round nose bullets in a tubular mag. You know, somebody has hotrodded a 45-70, and it kicks like a mule, and touched off a round, and the nose hit the primer of the shell in front of it?

Just curious.

Old 05-04-2005, 06:37 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Round nose in lever 45-70's

I have not had a problem with round nose bullets but the only RN I have used in the 45-70 is the 350 grain Hornady RN. I quess they make it in a flat nose as well. I shot a 32 Special and 30-30 without any problems as well. You have a good point though, the 45-70 generates enough recoil for this to be a concern. I now shoot mostly single shots so no problem there.
Old 05-04-2005, 06:42 PM
Typical Buck

It has happened so much that nobody gives load data for anything but a flat point for tube mags. (Of course it hasn't happened now a days because you can't buy 30,30 ballistic tip ammo)

If you really want to shoot pointed bullets or round nose bullets out of the gun feed them one at a time or load your first round straight into the chamber and load up the mag with flat or hollow point bullets.

See my "first for me" in the reload section if you don't think the recoil has that much power to set of a round. Mind you it was just a .44mag!!
Old 05-04-2005, 08:18 PM
Nontypical Buck