Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Gun firing when taken off safety >

Gun firing when taken off safety

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Gun firing when taken off safety

Old 12-22-2004, 06:13 PM

Default RE: Gun firing when taken off safety

Thanks for all the replies and special thanks to USMC. I was a police officer for 7 years and during that time, I served as a Firearms Instructor. I was also raised military on both sides of my family, so I grew up with guns my entire life. I have no problem letting someone know where my weaknesses are such as trigger/safety work. I do; however, use the knowledge and ethics I have obtained in my lifetime. As a police officer, I could share countless stories of "Accidental" discharges and things of that nature from those who carry firearms on a daily basis. Sometimes the basics (pointing in the right direction) makes all the difference in life and death. Regardless of the circumstances, I appreciate the fact that I got to show my son just how easy it is for something like that to take place.

Stubblejumber, I believe you do have the best interest in your replies; however, I would never turn anyone (ESPECIALLY MY SON) lose with a gun that I felt was unsafe. I am not trying to start a huge debate. Maybe I was wrong in my actions, but I simply came here for some answers, similar experiences, and so on. Trust me, I'm VERY meticulous and I will only have this gun repaired by someone VERY qualified.

Night Hawk....Thanks for the defense of my position. I do feel these forums often drift far from the original topic instead of helping one another in the spirit of the sport(s) we pursue.
Old 12-22-2004, 06:58 PM